Pran All Time

Finally, AL got 234 mayoral candidates, BNP 220

Tuesday 15 December, 2015 12:00:00 am

  Finally, AL got 234 mayoral candidates, BNP 220

Dhaka, Dec 14 (UNB) – After the withdrawal of candidatures, the ruling Awami League has finally got its mayoral candidates in 234 municipalities, while its arch rival BNP in 220 municipalities, according to the Election Commission.


According to statistics provided by the Commission, the number of total mayoral contestant now stands at 923 in 234 municipalities following the withdrawal of candidatures on Sunday.


Of them, 652 candidates got tickets from 20 political parties, while the remaining 271 are independent ones.


Among the contenders of political parties, 234 of AL, 220 of BNP, 73 of Jatiya Party (Ershad), 56 of Islami Andolan Bangladesh, 20 of Jasod, 17 of NPP and 32 of other 14 political parties.


Besides, single mayoral candidates are set to be elected uncontested in six municipalities -- Pirojpur, Madarganj in Jamalpur, Feni and Parshuram in Feni, Chatkhil in Noakhali and Tungipara in Gopalganj.


In Chengarchar municipality of Chandpur, a mayoral candidate got back his candidature from the court challenging the cancellation of nomination paper by the Election Commission.


With the court order, the number of mayoral candidates increased to two in the municipality setting the election fight between Awami League and BNP candidates.


As per the EC’s factsheet, a total of 162 mayoral candidates quit the election race within the December-13 deadline of withdrawal of candidatures.


Though no candidate of the ruling AL withdrew candidature, three BNP candidates pulled out from the election. Besides, 139 independent contenders and 12 Jatiya Party candidates backed off from the polls race.


On Monday, the Election Commission allocated election symbols to mayoral and councillor candidates in 234 municipalities across the country.  


With the symbol allocation, some 923 mayoral candidates and nearly 12,000 councillor candidates are allowed to use their symbols during their electioneering.


As the election of the mayoral post of each municipality was opened up to registered political parties for the first time, some of the famed and emotive electoral symbols of the country’s political parties -- such as ruling Awami League’s nouka (boat) and the BNP’s dhaaner shish (paddy sheaf) – were also allocated to their respective mayoral candidates.


Meanwhile, the Election Commission on Monday decided to withdraw officers in-charge of Matlab Uttar and Kulaura Police Station for their partisan role in the election proceedings of Chengarchar municipality of Chandpur and Kulaura of Moulvibazar, said an official at the EC Secretary.


The EC also sent a 10-point instruction to every returning officer to check the violation of the election code of conduct.


Election Commissioner Shah Nawaz said no one will be spared if found guilty of breaching the polls code.